Daily Prompt: Toy Story

Daily Prompt: Toy Story
by michelle w. on September 12, 2013

What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

~~~~~~~~

My favorite plaything as a child was my Barbies and Kens, but as I grew older and a bit more coordinated, I turned to paper dolls. Punch out or cut out; it didn’t matter to me. My mom subscribed to McCall’s magazine. Is McCall’s still in production? I haven’t thought of that magazine in a while. Anyway, back then, every issue had a paper doll in it to be cut out plus a couple of outfits. It wasn’t long that I began cutting my paper dolls from catalogs. I would create their stories as I cut; most times made-up from one Soap Opera or another. I cut and played with paper dolls until I was 15 or so.
I do see the connection. My play was a prelude to my making up short stories and ideas for novels.
pad2013

Read more at: https://mauldinfamily1.wordpress.com/category/daily-prompt/

Visit: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/daily-prompt-memento/ To view more Daily Prompts as they are added throughout the day.

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Toy Story

Add yours

  1. I was always fascinated with those paper doll chains but I could never cut them out right. It’s interesting you see the connection with your dolls and your stories. I never thought about it before but my Barbies each had their own story.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑