St. Valentine’s Day

1 A Post A Week Blogger 2014

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/writing-challenge-valentine/#more-68832

Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine?
by Ben Huberman on February 10, 2014

What does St. Valentine’s Day mean to me? It means romance; a romantic candle-light dinner for two, some new slinky lingerie, a dozen roses, new jewelry, a box of chocolates, and, of course, sex.
I think St. Valentine’s Day can mean commitment and love to some. Couples get engaged or married on this day, and I’m okay with that, as long as they remember their words, ‘to love’.
Love can mean so much more. What about self-love? Whether you are in an unhappy relationship or enjoying a fulfilling, solitary life, you can still pamper yourself. Buy yourself some chocolates, have a lovely candle-light dinner for yourself, buy roses for yourself; go all out and spend the day at a spa. Buy yourself some new perfume, new lingerie, new jewelry, or get yourself a manicure or pedicure or both. Donate to your favorite charity, or anything that makes you feel good about you.
Don’t just pamper yourself on one single day; pamper yourself on some level everyday and feel your self-love grow.
Branch on out and include family love, on this day, and every day. I love giving my mom pretty flowers for Valentine’s Day; candles to my daughters, and candy to my grandchildren.
I love ‘oohing and aahing’ at the gifts my friends receive from their significant other or watching a touching story of love on the ‘evening news’. I love sending hearts to friends and family on facebook. I try to take the time to remember the homeless, the lonely, the starving and send blessings to them, not just on St. Valentine’s Day, but every day.
I think those are the keywords here; every day. Love on Valentine’s Day, but also remember to love every day. Whether it be romantic love, self-love, family love, friends love, or the love we feel for the whole wide world, we should love every day.

Silver Lining www.thesunnygirl.com I
Photo courtesy of http://www.thesunnygirl.com via Yahoo Images

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑