Daily Prompt: Our House

Daily Prompt: Our House
by Krista on March 3, 2014

What are the earliest memories of the place you lived in as a child? Describe your house. What did it look like? How did it smell? What did it sound like? Was it quiet like a library, or full of the noise of life? Tell us all about it, in as much detail as you can recall.

~~~~~~~~

For an old woman heading straight toward sixty, I can remember pretty far back. I think that the things I can remember, I remember because they were, and still are, so much a part of me. It seems that I can remember them easier than what I said five-minutes-ago.

My earliest memory of the place I lived as a child, goes back to when I was four to five years old. It was an older home, almost like a cave, because it was built amongst two tall hills; one in the back and one on the right side. The front of the house was nearly in the road and on the left side was a hill that sloped downwards. Ah, the fun I had rolling down that hill, right into our neighbor’s yard.

I don’t remember much about how the home looked. I do remember that it was a small, two-bedroom, one-bathroom home. I slept in the front bedroom, which was on the left side of the home. The smell was like fresh dirt, which is still one of my favorite smells; it rates right up there along with the smell of babies.

The home was quiet inside. My poor mama had miscarried, shortly after we moved into the home. I had to be quiet inside, and spent much of my time outside. I’ve always been an outside kind of girl.

I had my tonsils taken out while we were living there. I remember eating a lot of ice cream. I love ice cream!

Our neighbor’s, Mr. and Mrs. Gibbs lived in a nice home, back off from the road than our home was. Mrs. Gibbs had a Kindergarten School House, closer to the road. I would often sit at the top of the hill, or looking out my bedroom mirror, and watch the Kindergarten children play outside at recess.

Mrs. Gibbs had taken a liking to me. She suggested that I attend Kindergarten when I was just 4-years-old, and I got to attend a second year, when I was five-years-old.

Those were happy times, having a school practically in my own yard.

1 A Schoolhouse www.toyconnect.blogspot.com 1
Image courtesy of http://www.toyconnect.blogspot.com via Yahoo Images

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/prompt-our-house/

1 A Post A Day Blogger 2014

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑