Remember when you wrote down the first thought you had this morning? Great. Now write a post about it.

When the clock went off this morning at 4:15 a.m., my first thought was, “Shut that clock off”. I had moved the alarm clock to a shelf at the foot of the bed about 8 months ago. That way I had to actually get up to cut it off, not just lay there and continue to hit snooze.

(I’m having a sense of deja-vu here. Clocks have been a main theme for me lately. Anyway, back to my post.)

Once I was up and had cut off the alarm clock, I headed for the bathroom, then to the kitchen to make coffee. This is my morning routine for 10 months out of the year. The other 2 months of the year I get to sleep until I’m ready to get up, then go about my regular schedule. Most weekends, too, unless we have to go somewhere; basketball games, softball games, football games, birthday parties, a gymnastic event, and so on.

I do not do mornings well. It takes me several hours to become fully awake; then I get to use my brain for 3 – 4 hours before it shuts down again. I’m an early to rise, early to bed person; and I hate alarm clocks. The annoying beeps of the alarm clock automatically puts my anxious, nervous self into a bad mood. The sound grates on my nerves.

Our middle daughter and grandson came down from Kentucky for Thanksgiving last year. I was already up when her cell phone alarm went off. It was playing gentle, soft music. I turned to my husband and said, “Ah, to wake up to that every morning instead of the screeching beep of our alarm clock.” That statement put him on a mission.

I’m very lucky to have a husband that dotes on me as often as possible. I should have known, but I’m dense like that sometimes. Anyway, I started doing an internet search for alarm clocks that would wake you up with soft, gentle sounds. Everything I found was way out of my price range. I complained about this to my husband, then forgot about it. My indigenous husband did not.

I received a clock, radio, cd player from my husband for Christmas. I could set it to a regular alarm, radio alarm, or cd alarm. I hadn’t even thought of that.

I have a fairly large and eclectic range of cd’s. Since Christmas, I have been waking up to various music and/or sounds. I’m currently waking up to Stevie Nicks sweet voice singing “Rhiannon”.

pad2013

Visit: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/28/daily-prompt-first-light/#like-15227 for more daily prompts, as they are added throughout the day.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

1.Daily Prompt: First Light | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
2.Sound the alarm! | Q the Adult
3.Daily Prompt: First Light | cognitive reflection
4.Daily Prompt: First Light | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
5.First light of the last days in Geneva | Mind Heart Journeys
6.Daily Prompt: First Light | بيسان
7.Daily Post: | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
8.Taking A Dream To A Creative Work | The Jittery Goat
9.Daily Prompt: First Light | nicksen
10.Embracing Your Amateurity | Never Stationary
11.Duly noted | The Daily Dilly Dally
12.Daily Prompt: First Light | Completely Disappear
13.The notepad | Paul Scribbles
14.Today is… | Misifusa’s Blog
15.Beep beep beep | theloneshewolf
16.panic | thematticuskingdom
17.Daily Prompt: First Light | From the C-Sweet
18.My first thought this morning | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
19.DPChallenge: First thoughts, morning kiss | stuffy tales
20.Daily Prompt – First Light | Joe’s Musings
21.DPChallenge: Morning light, first kiss | Someday I Will Learn
22.First Light | The Nameless One

