Daily Prompt: First Light

Remember when you wrote down the first thought you had this morning? Great. Now write a post about it.

When the clock went off this morning at 4:15 a.m., my first thought was, “Shut that clock off”. I had moved the alarm clock to a shelf at the foot of the bed about 8 months ago. That way I had to actually get up to cut it off, not just lay there and continue to hit snooze.

(I’m having a sense of deja-vu here. Clocks have been a main theme for me lately. Anyway, back to my post.)

Once I was up and had cut off the alarm clock, I headed for the bathroom, then to the kitchen to make coffee. This is my morning routine for 10 months out of the year. The other 2 months of the year I get to sleep until I’m ready to get up, then go about my regular schedule. Most weekends, too, unless we have to go somewhere; basketball games, softball games, football games, birthday parties, a gymnastic event, and so on.

I do not do mornings well. It takes me several hours to become fully awake; then I get to use my brain for 3 – 4 hours before it shuts down again. I’m an early to rise, early to bed person; and I hate alarm clocks. The annoying beeps of the alarm clock automatically puts my anxious, nervous self into a bad mood. The sound grates on my nerves.

Our middle daughter and grandson came down from Kentucky for Thanksgiving last year. I was already up when her cell phone alarm went off. It was playing gentle, soft music. I turned to my husband and said, “Ah, to wake up to that every morning instead of the screeching beep of our alarm clock.” That statement put him on a mission.

I’m very lucky to have a husband that dotes on me as often as possible. I should have known, but I’m dense like that sometimes. Anyway, I started doing an internet search for alarm clocks that would wake you up with soft, gentle sounds. Everything I found was way out of my price range. I complained about this to my husband, then forgot about it. My indigenous husband did not.

I received a clock, radio, cd player from my husband for Christmas. I could set it to a regular alarm, radio alarm, or cd alarm. I hadn’t even thought of that.

I have a fairly large and eclectic range of cd’s. Since Christmas, I have been waking up to various music and/or sounds. I’m currently waking up to Stevie Nicks sweet voice singing “Rhiannon”.

pad2013

Visit: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/02/28/daily-prompt-first-light/#like-15227 for more daily prompts, as they are added throughout the day.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

1.Daily Prompt: First Light | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
2.Sound the alarm! | Q the Adult
3.Daily Prompt: First Light | cognitive reflection
4.Daily Prompt: First Light | Daddy’s Naughty Little Girl
5.First light of the last days in Geneva | Mind Heart Journeys
6.Daily Prompt: First Light | بيسان
7.Daily Post: | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
8.Taking A Dream To A Creative Work | The Jittery Goat
9.Daily Prompt: First Light | nicksen
10.Embracing Your Amateurity | Never Stationary
11.Duly noted | The Daily Dilly Dally
12.Daily Prompt: First Light | Completely Disappear
13.The notepad | Paul Scribbles
14.Today is… | Misifusa’s Blog
15.Beep beep beep | theloneshewolf
16.panic | thematticuskingdom
17.Daily Prompt: First Light | From the C-Sweet
18.My first thought this morning | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
19.DPChallenge: First thoughts, morning kiss | stuffy tales
20.Daily Prompt – First Light | Joe’s Musings
21.DPChallenge: Morning light, first kiss | Someday I Will Learn
22.First Light | The Nameless One

20 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: First Light

Add yours

  1. Nice!
    I had to use that clock away from the bed trick when I was in school and had 7:30 am classes. Now I guess I must be trained or something, I ususally wake up on my own in time for whatever I need to do.

    Like

  2. I’m awful with beeping alarm clocks too! I’m adept at turning them off without even waking up wherever they are, which isn’t best. Did you ever try banging your head on the pillow as many times as you’ve got hours to sleep? That works well for me 🙂

    Like

  3. *sing-song* “Rhianon rings like a bell through the night, wouldn’t you love to love her, she rules her life like a bird in flight…” That’s a pretty good song to wake up to.

    In high school I woke up to REM’s “End of the World as we Know it” (and I feel fine) song… the crashing drums in the beginning were usually enough to get me up and moving quickly.

    In college I switched to some other types of music, but since college I’ve moved to the generic beep, beep, beep. Because I have to get up generally 2 hours before my wife, the beeping makes me get up and kill it that much quicker so as to disturb her slumber less. That’s the theory anyway.

    Like

    1. Did I say before that I Love Stevie Nicks? I love REM too. Right before the last Election, I went around singing, “End of the World as we Know it”. That’s always my go to song when something is happening that I think may change the course of life. “Losing my Religion” is my favorite REM song.
      I just can’t handle the beeping. It’s worse than fingernails being scraped across a blackboard! 🙂

      Like

      1. Worse than fingernails on a chalkboard? Wow. No beeping for you then. I can’t stand the sound of Styrofoam being pulled out of a cardboard box – that’s my worse than nails & chalkboard.

        Like

  4. Pingback: jhyunkang

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑