Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling

Amber-Wake-Review-Quote-Header

Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling is about a man on many missions beginning in a London sailor’s pub in the year 1705. There are the obvious missions but also those internal ones and relationship ones I took care developing most.

Gabriel Wallace is a high born member of English society and captain in the Royal Navy who is also a member of the House of Lords, although that last part does not play an obvious role in the book, it does in explaining who Wallace is. I intended the external actions to outward displays of his upbringing. For the most part, this holds true throughout the book. There are some exceptions because all people do odd things out of character at times.

“That his first person voice is as confessional as it is kept me turning the pages.” 4 Star Review from Published Author

What I’ve been hearing from beta-readers and in reviews is the enjoyment of the character development and the success of Captain Wallace connecting to the reader. It is a first person story, told by Wallace. He reveals nothing that he does not know. Some books will reveal how another character reacts in a way that you would only know if you were inside the other person’s mind. I intentionally made the effort to have Wallace only think of things he would need to think of at that particular moment in time, only things that made sense.

You don’t get every detail of the story that Wallace knows, because Wallace has no reason to revisit those memories. You do get hints of things in how he thinks back to them, or references them in his mind.

This isn’t a romance, and you won’t find any included. However, Gabriel Wallace is known by another name by the end of the book, and is included in a series of Historical Romance Adventures by my co-author PS Bartlett. Our intent with Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling is to give a background to show how he becomes the man Ivory Shepard needs in her life at a certain time.

With good reviews and response, it looks to me as though PS Bartlett and I have a good story with good characters. It’s been called a “page turner”.

Excerpt

“Even in these waters, that’s typical of a cyclone that comes up from the south.” Carbonale continued slicing away at the thick red hair on the crown of my head and tending to my wound as he spoke. “The cold water from the bottom of the ocean comes up to the top from all the churning and that, my young man, makes for even bigger problems. Hot and cold do not mix…in weather or in love.”

Adam blushed and chuckled. “No worries about that last part with me, sir. Captain, if I may speak plainly, sir, I want you to know that if not for Mister Carbonale’s quick thinking, every one of us would have perished. Me, still being just a boy and all, I’m sure I’d have been the first to go.”

“What?” Blood flooded my head and I slumped forward as the pain spiked in my brain.

“Sit still, Captain,” Carbonale said. “And you, don’t excite him…nor exaggerate,” he chided Adam. “A boy would not have survived out there. I believe after this day, you’ve proven you’re not a boy anymore.”

“I wasn’t exaggerating, sir, and you know it. On my life, Captain, I was saved by a black snake.”

I turned my squinted eyes to Adam. I knew him not to be one to lie but being saved by a snake? “Adam, there is…”

“Had Mister Carbonale not tossed me the whip, I’d be facedown and floating out to sea right now. When the longboat capsized, I surfaced several yards away from the barrels as they bobbed in the waves. Then, I felt Mr. Carbonale’s whip slap across my head. I grabbed it without a second thought. When I looked at what I had clutched in my hands, I almost let go. At first glance, I thought it was a snake.” Adam finally took a breath.

“It was a great deal less exciting than he has expressed,” Carbonale mumbled from behind me, now wrapping my head. “The fact is, the boy saved us all. It was his suggestion to tie those barrels together. He said he’d read it in one of his books.”

“Adam, get out of those wet clothes and get some rest,” I said.

“But, sir, there’s still work to be done and you need…”

“You’ve done enough for one day. Now go and help yourself to a cup of that hot grog as well. We’ll not have you catching your death.” Adam turned with a flashing smile and exited the cabin. “How accurate was his account of what happened?” I asked Carbonale as the door closed.

“Gabriel, I’d prefer never to think on it again. If the truth be told, I knew if I returned without that lad…let’s just say I’d rather face the sharks than your wrath.”

I made no further inquiries. In my physical state, as well as my state of mind, I decided not to press him and we spent the remainder of our time together in silence as he tended to me. Although we did not exchange words, I spent those quiet moments wondering if he realized how much of himself he had revealed today. He had medical knowledge and knew the workings of tropical cyclones, all the while pretending to be a young man of leisure whose only concern was the quality of his wine and the polish of his appearance. I’d already known he was brave and capable but adding to that his rescue of Adam and the others, I now measured him higher than any other man I knew, living or dead.

ronovan-w-hester

Bio

Ronovan Hester is a writer living near Athens, Ga, home of his alma mater, The University of Georgia, where he received a B.S.Ed. in History Education. Ronovan puts his love of history and his over 20 years of writing experience to use in his debut Historical Adventure set in 1705 England, American Colonies, and Caribbean co-authored with P.S. Bartlett.

Ronovan’s devotion to history and writing sometimes competes with his love of tacos and fresh fruit. At times, all his favorite things work hand in hand in mouth during long binge writing sessions that have been known to last nonstop for over 24 hours. Rather than see a sleep disorder as a hindrance, he uses the time for creative purposes, or watching old TV shows on online.

Ronovan enjoys putting elements of history, if only as nods to the past, in all of his book projects. He currently instills that love of history and learning in his son daily as he helps him through his college prep courses, meaning hours of homework every night, even while not yet a teenager—his son, not Ronovan. Now if he could find a very good mute for that trumpet his son just began learning.

Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling is available on Amazon in Paperback and for Kindle. It is also Free with Kindle Unlimited.

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

Amazon.ca

Amazon.au

Choose your connections with Ronovan: Amazon Author Page

Amazon Author Page UK

Personal Blog

Author Site

LitWorldInterviews.com

Goodreads

Twitter

Facebook

Google+

LinkedIn

About.me

Pinterest

Amber-Wake-Cover

8 thoughts on “Amber Wake: Gabriel Falling

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

