Shadow Stalker: Episode 15 Chapter 1 Sneak Peek

Renee Scattergood

Author, Renee Scattergood

Everything in my life was crumbling around me. I lost my two best friends in the world. After Jade was captured, Cali had become my best friend and the person I depended on for my sanity, and now she was gone too. The man I loved faced danger living with our enemy on a daily basis, and Kado only seemed interested in adding to my pain. He was never one for affectionate comfort, but he didn’t seem to care at all lately how I was feeling. I hated him. I had to get a hold of myself though. If I kept crying like this he might decide I was too emotionally unstable and I’d never get away to stop the Galvadi once and for all.

In that moment, I was tempted to leave Appolia for good. I could try and convince Makari to leave the Galvadi, and we could go off on our own somewhere while I figured out what to do about Drevin. Of course, he was more likely to side with Kado in his desire to keep me safe, so maybe I’d be better off on my own. I just couldn’t stand the thought of losing one more person I loved. I might finally break and become the person Kado had seen in his vision on the Dark Isle.

I curled into a tighter ball and bit my lip to stifle my sobs as someone entered the alcove. I didn’t have to see who it was to know it was Kado. Maybe if I didn’t attract his attention, he’d leave me alone. No such luck, though. He sat behind me on the floor, a little closer than was comfortable in that moment for two reasons. I didn’t want to be anywhere near him, and he brushed against my sore thigh that he’d whipped raw with the switch only moments before. I gasped and resisted the urge to pull away when I felt his hand on my head.

“We need to talk,” he said, softly.

Thanks for reading this sneak peek. If you’d like to read more, become a patron for $1 a month. You’ll have access to all past and future serial episodes.

https://www.patreon.com/posts/shadow-stalker-1/

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

