How Come You Write So Slowly?

Tips for Writer’s

Dan Davis Writes

I wrote Gunpowder & Alchemy Book 1 in one month. And then I bragged about it. So how come it took me six months to get Book 2 released?

Give me a break! Sheesh. I’ve blogged along the way but here’s what’s been happening since January (it’s mid-June now). Then I’ll list what I learned from it (you love bullet point lists, right?).

How I wrote it

  • Book 2 was more ambitious.
    • There was more plot to get through
    • Historical research was required
    • I was aiming for about 70-75,000 words (Book 1 = 65,000)
  • I whizzed through the first two-thirds. By mid-Feb, I had about 55,000 words.
  • The plotting of the final third was tricky. The book crept up in length as I worked through the detail of how everything would come together for the big final battle.
  • First draft finished by the end of March and it was 90,000 words.
  • I…

View original post 498 more words

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

