Episode 9 – Turning Tides Excerpt

Turning Tides E9 Button

Shadow Stalker, Episode 9: Turning Tides

Author, Renee Scattergood

Excerpt

“Remember we don’t have a lot of time, Auren,” Makari said, kneeling beside me.

I nodded, pulling back reluctantly to gaze into my father’s tear streaked face. Still words failed me, so I filled the silence my lifting a spoonful of porridge to his mouth.

“I wish it was something better,” I said.

My father grinned. “I could really go for a Hidalai steak right now.”

“As soon as we’re safe back on the Dark Isle, I’ll make you one.”

My father’s grin faded, and he stroked the side of my face. “You look so much like your mother, and you have her spirit and courage too.”

“I’ve missed you my whole life, and I’ve thought about you every day,” I whispered. “I wanted to find you the moment I learned you were still alive.”

“While I’m overjoyed to see you and to know you’re safe, I wish it wasn’t here, Auren.” His gaze became stern. “You’re in danger as long as you stay here.”

I sighed, lowering the bowl into my lap. “It seems I’m in danger wherever I go. Maybe I’m safest where the enemy least expects me.”

Zain smiled. “And you have your mother’s wisdom as well. You can’t imagine how proud I am of you.”

“You shouldn’t be. I’ve caused pain and suffering, and I betrayed the Coalition,” I said, my voice thick with emotion.

Makari mumbled something behind me.

“Enough,” my father answered in a stern tone. “I want no more talk of this. It is Drevin’s doing, not yours. And if anyone is responsible for Drevin’s tyranny, it’s me. I could have stopped this before it started.”

He sounded so much like Kado it was easy to see how much influence Zain had on my foster father. For the first time in a long time, I felt hope take root.

My father gazed at Makari over my head. “Come,” he said, patting the ground. “Kneel here and face Auren. Take her hands.”

Makari did as instructed. The instant our hands touched I felt the energy between us pulse.

 

Turning Tides E9

Buy Information: ISBN: 9781311671387
Renee Scattergood
Renee Scattergood – My Bio

Renee Scattergood lives in Australia with her husband, Nathan, and daughter, Taiya. She has always been a fan of fantasy and was inspired to become a story-teller by George Lucas, but didn’t start considering writing down her stories until she reached her late twenties. Now she enjoys writing fantasy. She is currently publishing her monthly Shadow Stalker series, and she has also published a prequel novella to the series called, Demon Hunt. Aside from writing, she loves reading (Fantasy, of course), watching movies with her family, and doing crafts and science experiments with her daughter.

Author Pages:

Renee Writes: http://reneescattergood.com/

Renee’s Author Spotlight: http://reneesauthorspotlight.blogspot.com.au/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00NTJY1W2

Smashwords Author Page: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/rscatts

Social Media:

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/reneescatts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ReneeScatts

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/118427336236369690813/+ReneescattergoodAuthor/posts

 

7 thoughts on “Episode 9 – Turning Tides Excerpt

Add yours

      1. Cool! I have to admit, I really enjoyed writing this one. I’ve really enjoyed the last three. I keep wondering if there’s something wrong with me because I always seem to write better when I’m torturing my characters. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

