1 A BlogHer NaBloPoMo_March_2014_self

NaBloPoMo – BlogHer – March 2014

Friday, March 28, 2014
How old were you when you started your first diary?

~~~~~~~~

I received my first diary when I was eight or nine years old. I wrote something in it every day. At first, I wrote little snippets about my day, maybe a poem here and there, and some days I wrote what I was feeling.

My second diary was much like my first, but I found I needed more space to write in, so I went to notebooks. I filled many notebooks with poems, my feelings, and short stories or story ideas. My notebooks soon became boxes of notebooks.

As I grew older, I started writing letters to God; asking him questions and pouring all my worries out to him. I took my boxes of notebooks with me, when I married. They were very sacred to me.

I continued to write daily; journaling my life. When my first husband, and I, divorced, he told me he had read most of my notebooks. I was very upset and didn’t journal again for several years. When I did start back, it wasn’t a daily practice like it was before.

It was a romantic notion I had, that I would leave the boxes for my daughter’s to find after I passed away. That was not meant to be. They were all destroyed in a fire around 2003. What wasn’t burnt, was so badly water-damaged that the whole lot had to be thrown away; nothing was salvageable. Thirty-years of my writings were gone.

