1 A BlogHer NaBloPoMo_March_2014_self

Daily Prompt: Young At Heart
by Krista on March 22, 2014

NaBloPoMo – BlogHer

What are your thoughts on aging? How will you stay young at heart as you get older?

~~~~~~~~

It seems to me, I have aged forty-years during the last twenty-years. Life has been hard; with lot’s of lessons to be learned. When my girls left home, I had a small identity crisis. No longer was I ‘mom’ or ‘mommy’ all day long; seven days a week. I found myself with a lot of time on my hands and an empty stillness which I turned into meditation.

I was a seeker; seeking out who I was, who I wanted to be, and what I wanted to do with my life. Ironically, every time I thought I had it figured out, I would be thrown another curve ball that sent me seeking down a different path.

Studying genealogy taught me who I am. Losing the health, I had long taken for granted, taught me to slow down and take life one day at a time. Becoming a grandmother, has brought joy and purpose to my life.

What more do I need? My grandchildren keep me young at heart. There is so much, I would like to pass on to them, but as they get older, I’m starting to realize they have their own lives to live; their own experiences to learn from.

It is my job to laugh with them, love them, and be a stable grandparent for them; one they know will be there for them when needed.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/prompt-young/

1 A Post A Day Blogger 2014

