Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman – NaBloPoMo – BlogHer

1 A BlogHer NaBloPoMo_March_2014_self

Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman
by Krista on March 23, 2014

What kind of sleeper are you? Do you drop off like a stone and awaken refreshed, or do you need pitch black and silence to drift off to dream?

~~~~~~~~

After years of dropping off to sleep like a stone and awakening refreshed and ready to go, I became an insomniac. My bed became a place to toss and twist, rather than a place for relaxation and sleep. I had to go on sleeping pills for awhile, until I self-taught myself some relaxation techniques.

The relaxation techniques worked for awhile, then something changed to cause me to fall asleep well, but then I would wake up, after a short while, and be unable to go back to sleep for hours, only to repeat the process over and over again. Before long, I would be working, driving, or some other activity, and fall sound asleep.

I was diagnosed with narcolepsy and sleep apnea. Along with a C-Pap machine and a different pill to help me sleep, I was given another prescription drug to help me stay awake during the day. What kind of life is that? A pill to put you to sleep and another pill to help you stay awake?

The insomnia, eventually came back and took over my life. I was sleeping, maybe thirty-minutes at a time throughout the night, and being awake for hours, before being so exhausted I would fall asleep again for thirty minutes……

The weight began to pile on, as I was eating when I woke up, thinking that might help me get back to sleep. It was a vicious cycle, that no doubt was the beginning of diabetes or what brought on the diabetes. Once my blood sugar levels were brought back under control, the sleep issue seemed to work itself out.

However, the past couple of weeks, I have started waking up during the night again. I pray this is not another episode coming upon me. Maybe, my C-Pap just needs revamping, or it could be my meds need revamping. All I know is, I don’t want to go through another period of anxiety, depression, exhaustion, fatigue, more fibromyalgia pain, etc…

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/daily-prompt-mr-sandman/

1 A Post A Day Blogger 2014

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman – NaBloPoMo – BlogHer

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

