BlogHer – NaBloPoMo – March 2014

1 A BlogHer NaBloPoMo_March_2014_self

BlogHer – NaBloPoMo – March 2014

Friday, March 14, 2014
Is it easier for you to work together with other people or to work alone?

~~~~~~~~

For twenty-five years, I worked on assembly lines, where we all had to work together to get the work done. In 2000, my second husband and I created a small business for ourselves. We worked at Art and Craft Shows and had a kiosk in a local mall. We sold items on e-bay and at large ‘flea markets’. We were working together as a team.

When I went to work for the local school system, I was lucky enough that I worked alone, most of the time. I was hired to create a program that had been mandated by law. Basically, I was given the law and told to create a working program around it; and I did. Of course, I had to do a lot of collaborative work, but was mostly given free reign, and a supervisor that backed me.

After a couple of years, I had built a great program. I was very proud of myself for accomplishing this, as I had never done this kind of work before. Unfortunately, I tried to do it all and collapsed under the pressure.

I hope I have learned my lessons and will not make those mistakes again as I embark on my writing career. I enjoy working alone during the quiet of the day. As I have started getting closer to my goal of publishing some of my work, I find myself reaching out to others for tips and techniques. It is nice to post a question and get several different answers and perspectives from writer’s willing to share their experience.

I am thankful for all writer’s that share and try to help fledglings, like myself.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

