Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love

Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love
by Krista on February 14, 2014

Remember your first crush? Think about that very first object of your affection. Oh, the sweaty palms. The swoony feeling in your stomach. Tell us the story of your first crush. What was it about this person that made your heart pound? Was the love requited? Change the names to protect the guilty or innocent if you must! No judgement here. Happy Valentine’s Day!

~~~~~~~~

My first crush? It seems to me I was always falling in and out of love; a hopeless romantic. I was in the fourth grade and we had a new student join our class, Marcus. I don’t even remember his last name, but I know it was different; he was different.
I have always been drawn to different. Does anybody else feel that way? I have always felt different, thought different, and been drawn to different more than anybody else; including friends as well as family. I’m not sure where this feeling comes from. My dad and mom are normal southerners; I just came out different. I guess it is the Bohemian blood that runs in my veins? Oh well, back to my first crush.
Marcus was very cute; brown hair and big, dreamy, poetic brown eyes. The eyes always draw me and float me away. I fell for him the minute our teacher introduced him to the class.
Back then, most of us, nine to fourteen year old teens and pre-teens, gathered at the local downtown theatre on Saturday’s. You could watch movies all day for twenty-five cents. Does anybody remember that? Those were the days.
My mom worked downtown in a Fabric Store that sold material, patterns, and all kinds of sewing needs. I would ride to work with her in the mornings and walk the couple of blocks to the theatre when it opened; I think it opened around 12 noon and you could watch movies until 5:00 pm for a quarter; a couple of good features along with some cartoons. Candy was a nickel, popcorn was a dime, and a drink was a dime.
I have always had a lot of boys for friends and it wasn’t long before Marcus started showing up at the theatre with some of my boy friends. We talked, laughed, and watched movies. After a couple of weeks, Marcus sat beside me one Saturday, and asked if I would like to share his popcorn. I was thrilled. In those days, if a boy asked you to share his popcorn, it was equivalent to ‘going steady’, (is that even still a thing?). A couple of weeks after that, we started holding hands. Ah, the swoony feeling in my stomach, be still.
For the rest of that school year, we were together as ‘boyfriend and girlfriend’. When summer came, we all hung-out at the public pool. One day, Marcus told me that his family was moving again, so that was the end of that little romance, but I still think of him often and wonder what happened in his life and where he is now.
Does a girl ever forget her first crush?

1 A Young Love www.preciousthots.com 1
Image Courtesy of http://www.preciousthots.com via Yahoo Images

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/daily-prompt-its-friday-im-in-love/

1 A Post A Day Blogger 2014

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love

Add yours

  1. I liked your story very much. I’m sorry that he had to move so quickly. I learned from you a couple of things about how love was some time ago. It’s sad that it became so materialistic today. Thank you for this post. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  2. No! (No one forgets their first crush!) First crushes are precious. Alas, I was the one who moved a few times! I actually ‘looked up’ my first crush, Billy S. and he was a doctor. (From Kindergarten until Third Grade, I adored him!) Then, my second crush was on a gym teacher, Mr. Stone. That one ended when I moved to middle school and another town. The one that lasted, from age 13 until 18, was a boy named Bobby. I wrote about this one, it is an interesting story of how I chased after a memory. I never really showed him I liked him, just tried to get his attention by talking to his friends. I was a little shy, I guess, back then. Anyway, I think this was fun and nostalgic! I am so glad your story was more of ‘requited’ than my ‘unrequited loves!’ Smiles, Robin

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

