Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach

Daily Prompt: Out of Your Reach
by Cheri Lucas Rowlands on December 10, 2013

Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

~~~~~~~~

The one thing I always wanted, but never received, was a pony. I wanted a pony of my very own. We had friends, that lived outside of the city limits, and owned a barn full of horses and ponies. I loved when we visited them. They taught me how to brush, feed, and care for their horses.
I have always loved animals and dreamed of becoming a veterinarian someday. Those two dreams never happened. My family lived in the city; no place for horses or ponies. Every dog we brought home, ended up getting run over.
A cat was out of the question. My mom hated all animals and would never allow one in the house.
I remember finding injured birds that I wanted to nurse back to life, but my mom would make me put it back outside to fend for itself in the elements. She thought animals were nasty and carried all kinds of disease, especially the birds. In retrospect, I suppose she wasn’t entirely wrong, but my young mind didn’t understand.
Anyway, back to my desired pony. I tried to use the argument that we could leave it at one of my grandparent’s barn. They both lived in the country, raised chickens, cows, and pigs. “Why couldn’t my pony stay there and I would visit and take care of him?”
My dad explained that pony’s needed care every day and my grandparent’s were too busy taking care of what they had; so, I decided I would go and live with them. That didn’t work either.
Once, I was old enough to purchase a pony on my own, I was too busy raising an alcoholic, a baby, and working 48 to 60 hours a week. I still love horses and ponies, but have accepted my fate to never own one.
1 A Pony

pad2013

Read more at: https://mauldinfamily1.wordpress.com/category/daily-prompt/

Visit: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/out-of-your-reach/ To view more Daily Prompts as they are added throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

