Second First Time August 22, 2013

Booking Through Thursday
http://btt2.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/second-first-time/

We all know the beauty of reading a really wonderful book for the first time—when everything about the story and the writing and the timing click to make a reader’s perfect storm … but it’s fleeting, because you can never read that book for the first time again.

So … if you could magically reset things so that you had the chance to read a favorite book/series again for the first time … which would you choose? And why?

And then, since tastes change … Do you think it would have the same affect on you, reading it now, as it did when you read it the first time? Would you love it just as much? Would you risk it?

~~~~~~~~
1. Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach
I first read this book around the age of 12 or so. It had a profound effect on me. I have read it many times since, and although I don’t get that profound effect, I do learn something new each time I read it. A paragraph or phrase reaches out to me that never has before.
I expect that I will read it again and will love it just as much.

2. Conversations With God (Book I) by Neale Donald Walsh
This is another book that had a profound effect on me. I first read it in my late 20’s to early 30’s. I think I did read it a second time during my 40’s, but I don’t remember it having a profound effect the second time.
I would like to give it another read, as it has been several years since my last read. The book has been on my mind a lot. I think that is a sign to re-read it.

Read more at: https://mauldinfamily1.wordpress.com/category/booking-through-thursday/

Visit: http://btt2.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/second-first-time/ To read more as they are added.

