Booking Through Thursday
http://btt2.wordpress.com/2013/07/

My best friend is moving across country, heading back to the East Coast for the first time after years of living in California, and one of the things she’s lamented was the whole packing-the-books thing. Having moved a few years ago myself (whittling down my 3000-volume library to 2000-volumes and still ending up with something like 50 boxes of books), I sympathize.

So … the question is–what kind of moving experiences have you had with your books? (Or, just in general if you’ve got good Moving Day stories–and who doesn’t?) Did having to pack and move your books cause any changes in your book-collecting habits? Make you wish you had everything on an e-reader? Feel free to discuss! (grin)

I have only moved once in my adult life. I didn’t have anywhere near your number of books. My numbers were more like 400-500 books and I moved them little by little, not all at once. Some I gave to my oldest daughter, who was 20 and just married, at the time. She inherited my love of reading and we used to swap books a lot. Some I put in storage at my mom’s to save for my, then unborn, grandchildren.
I didn’t wish for an e-reader; I’m not even sure that they were available then (1998)? I have an e-reader now with about 200 books on it, but I much prefer reading from a book. There’s just something more satisfying in holding a book in my hands and turning pages.

Read more Booking Through Thursday’s at: https://mauldinfamily1.wordpress.com/category/booking-through-thursday/

Visit: http://btt2.wordpress.com/2013/07/25/moving/ To view and read more Booking Through Thursday’s.

