Booking Through Thursday – Summer Reading

Booking Through Thursday

Inspired by a conversation with a coworker the other day:

It’s time for summer reading, so … today’s question? What’s the worst thing you ever did to your reading material? Sand in the bindings from the beach? Dropped into the pool? Covers smeared with sunscreen?

And, if you’ve never done actual summer-time damage … have you EVER damaged your book/magazine/paper? Dropped it in the bathtub? Used it to kill a bug? Spilled with coffee?

I have been known to spill coffee, coke, tea, and/or water on a book. I do a lot of reading outside and tend to leave the books outside sometimes, then they get wet from the dew and sometimes rain.
I never throw a book away. I try to repair the damage as best I can and keep on reading. 🙂

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

8 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Summer Reading

Add yours

  1. Have you thought of getting a couple of clear plastic covers that you could slip over the books? That way they could withstand a little water. I thought of getting some off eBay at one point to protect books when I was travelling. I got side-tracked and never got them as I haven’t been anywhere for ages.

    Like

  2. I know about leaving books outside in the rain. I love to read outside on a summer day, but have been known to leave my book on a chair for a few hours and come back to rain-soaked pages. I never throw a book out unless it is shedding pages like crazy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

