Daily Prompt: Take Care

Daily Prompt: Take Care
by michelle w. on June 11, 2013

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

I’m the type that just wants to be left alone when I’m not feeling well. I have to be very, very sick before I will ask for help.
Case in Point:
About 4 years ago, I started feeling nauseous and eventually vomiting. I felt like I had a bad kidney infection, similar to one years earlier. I often became unwell with urinary tract infections and bladder infections, so I didn’t think anything about it. I started drinking cranberry juice and hot lemon juice. It wasn’t long until I was only able to drink Gatorade. I couldn’t sleep and eventually couldn’t drink or eat anything without vomiting. At this point, I was so weak and could barely hold my head up. That’s when I asked for help. My husband took me to our family doctor. My husband and I, both thought I had a kidney infection.
After a check of my urine, the doctor came back in and said, “I’m surprised that you are not in a coma. Your urine showed very high ketones, 865”. I just looked at him dumbly because I didn’t know what he was talking about. “You are a Diabetic, Mrs. Mauldin,” he said, “I’m sending you over to the hospital right now.”
I was in the hospital for about a week and was finally released on Christmas Day, with a blood sugar of 200. I learned a lot about Diabetes during that week in the hospital; how to eat, what to eat, when to eat, what my blood sugar should be, how to give myself insulin shots, how to test my blood sugar, and more.
I have to be very, very sick to ask for help.

Post a

Read more Daily Prompts at: https://mauldinfamily1.wordpress.com/category/daily-prompt/

Visit: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/daily-prompt-take-care/ to view more Daily Prompts as they are added throughout the day.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks
1.Listen to Your Own Body | Daily Prompt: Take Care | likereadingontrains
2.Depression | From Five to Fifty
3.Sick day | Geek Ergo Sum
4.That Time I Got Hit By a Car in Bangkok | Paths Unwritten
5.Take Care | Musings from a practical mystic
6.Take My Hand | It’s a wonderful F’N life
7.Loads of tea | Spunky Wayfarer
8.S.O.S. | Misifusa’s Blog
9.Get up, get dressed and go in. And if you still feel unwell later, call me. | thoughtsofrkh
10.Take Care: Unwell but not Undefeated | Mary Angelini Photography
11.Daily Prompt: Take Care | iChristian
12.What Do Pigs Know That Humans Don’t? | The Jittery Goat
13.Take Care! | Nanuschka’s Blog
14.Daily Prompt: Taking Care Of Business | My Daily Prompt Blog
15.Asking For Help | It’s My Box
16.Take Care… (Daily Prompt) | The Rider
17.Take Care | May Cause Irritation
18.Daily Prompt: Take Care Of The Voices | Musings&Rants
19.Baby Me : [Daily Prompt: Take Care] | unknowinglee
Visit: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/daily-prompt-take-care/ For the Links listed above.
P. S. I have not been able to copy the links themselves all at one time. If you know how to do this, please let me know.

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Take Care

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

