A to Z April Blogging Challenge
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/
A to Z

S is for Sister

I never had a sister of my own, but I watched my best-friend, and her sister, as they went back and forth between sisterly love and violent hate. My best friend, Nan, had an older, (by 2 years), sister. Nan and I were six years old when we first became friends. Nan’s sister, Barbra or ‘Barb’ for short, was eight years old. Back then we all played fairly well together, but when Barb turned 12, things began to change.
All of a sudden, Barb didn’t want to be seen talking to us at school anymore. When we did talk to her she would look at her older friends roll her eyes, and say, “My little sister with her ‘bestie’, aren’t they cute?” as she patted Nan on the head. This, of course, would cause Nan to scream, “I hate you! Just wait until we get home and I tell mom.” Which would lead to Barb and her friends staring with mouths wide open at the younger girls and teachers running from their rooms to see what the commotion was about. Nan was always the one to get in trouble, since she was the one doing the shouting.
Nan said that even at home, when she tried to talk to her mom about it, her mom would just say, “Now, Nan, you are just going to have to understand that your sister is getting older. You will catch up with her eventually, and the two of you will get along again. You just have to be patient and in the meantime work on staying out of trouble.”
We were not allowed to enter Barb’s room anymore, without knocking first. We had to play quietly, so we wouldn’t bother Barb. We decided we would play at my house more.
My mom was not a stay-at-home mom like Nan’s, but there was a Nanny there to look after me until dad and/or mom got home from work. Nan’s mother understood and agreed, so Nan and I began playing at my house.
Nan was amazed that I had my own computer in my own computer room. We went to the playroom and Nan gasped when she saw all the games I had.
“Wow, if I was you I would never leave home! Why did you always want to play at my house?”
“There’s no one here to play with.”
Nan could see her friend’s point.
“I bet you would like to have a sister.”
“No, Nan, just a friend.”

Join me at: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorD.B.Mauldin

