E is for Eclectic

A to Z April Blogging Challenge
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

E is for Eclectic

I often call myself eclectic. I tend to like a variety of most everything. First, let’s start by looking at some definitions of eclectic from Dictionary.com
ec·lec·tic [ih-klek-tik]
adjective
1.
selecting or choosing from various sources.
2.
made up of what is selected from different sources.
3.
not following any one system, as of philosophy, medicine, etc., but selecting and using what are considered the best elements of all systems.
4.
noting or pertaining to works of architecture, decoration, landscaping, etc., produced by a certain person or during a certain period, that derive from a wide range of historic styles, the style in each instance often being chosen for its fancied appropriateness to local tradition, local geography, the purpose to be served, or the cultural background of the client.
noun
5.
Also, ec·lec·ti·cist [ih-klek-tuh-sist] a person who follows an eclectic method, as in philosophy or architecture.

Definitions 1, 2, 3, and possibly 5, would relate to me. I do live life to the beat of my own drum. Some examples include: Art, Beliefs, Books, Cats, Dogs, Exercise, Food, Gardening, Housework, Music, Philosophy, Poetry, and Writing, to name a few.
I’m not going to get into any of these in today’s post, but may discuss some on down the alphabet. 🙂
I will leave you with a quote I found that pretty much describes me.

“Eclecticism is the degree zero of contemporary general culture: one listens to reggae, watches a western, eats McDonald’s food for lunch and local cuisine for dinner, wears Paris perfume in Tokyo and “retro” clothes in Hong Kong; knowledge is a matter for TV games. It is easy to find a public for eclectic works.”
Jean François Lyotard

Jean François Lyotard (b. 1924), French philosopher. repr. In The Postmodern Condition: A Report on Knowledge (1979, revised 1986). “Answering the Question: What is Postmodernism?” no. 419, Critique (Paris, April 1982).

Seems I’m not as unique as I thought I was.

A to Z

11 thoughts on “E is for Eclectic

Add yours

  1. Good word! I like it and think everyone has at least a little bit of that in them, somewhere. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog and I’m glad you put the post number there so I can visit back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

