Daily Prompt: Undo

If you could un-invent something, what would it be? Discuss why, potential repercussions, or a possible alternative.

I would un-invent the drilling of oil. In my opinion, the drilling of oil has been our biggest downfall. The environmental effects alone is good reason to un-invent the drilling of oil. These include, but are not limited to, Global Warming, Oil Spills, and Tarballs. It was the main reason for war in the 20th Century.
See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petroleum for more information.

The first oil well in the United States was drilled during the 19th Century. On August 28, 1859, Edwin Drake’s first oil well, known as “Drakes Folly”, produced a steady supply of oil; about 400 gallons per day.
For more information, visit: http://history1800s.about.com/od/oil/a/first-oil-well.htm

Repercussions: We would have to do without a lot of the conveniences oil provides us: Electricity, Vehicles, etc…
Would it be worth it? Would we be better off without it? Some thoughts to ponder upon.

Possible Alternatives
Use the natural oil seeps, that have occurred since ancient times all over the world. Solar Power, Algae Fuels, and Vegetable Oils are some other alternatives.

pad2013

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/tag/post-ideas/

Please visit other bloggers Daily Prompt:

1.Undo – I’m Afraid Of The Dark – http://imafraidofthedark.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/undo/
2.Undo « Natalie Elizabeth Beech – http://natalieelizabethbeech.com/2013/02/21/undo/
3.Daily Post: Undo | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee – http://evankropp.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/daily-post-undo/
4.Control Z Uggs, Please « Q the Adult – http://qtheadult.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/control-z-uggs-please/
5.Daily Prompt: Undo … Speed Cameras | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34 – http://determined34.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/daily-prompt-undo-speed-cameras/

6.Ilya Fostiy. Is There a God? | Philosophy & Photography – http://bzebza.com/2013/02/21/ilya-fostiy-is-there-a-god/
7.Chocolates, Anyone | The Jittery Goat – http://jitterygt.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/chocolates-anyone/
8.Un-invent…hatred, violence, weapons … | Hope* the happy hugger – http://hopethehappyhugger.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/un-invent-hatred-violence-weapons/

9.Delete and undo « Spunky Wayfarer – http://spunkywayfarer.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/delete-and-undo/
10.Udo – The Facebook Ad Excess | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More – http://spunkywayfarer.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/delete-and-undo/

11.Let’s Try This Again… « Sorta-Ginger – http://sortaginger.com/lets-try-this-again/
12.So Long, Money « Stuphblog – http://stuphblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/so-long-money/
13.imagine… | thematticuskingdom – http://thematticuskingdom.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/imagine/
14.Root of All Evil | Chasing The Bubble – http://aleniaban.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/root-of-all-evil/
15.Daily Prompt – Undo OR The Right To Live | Beyond Beauty Tips – http://beyondbeautytips.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/daily-prompt-undo-or-the-right-to-live/

16.The courage to say No | Pigments of Life – http://thepigmentsoflife.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/the-courage-to-say-no/
17.There’s No Place To Hide, Get Lost, Scratch, Or Pick Anymore | The Jittery Goat – http://jitterygt.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/theres-no-place-to-hide-get-lost-scratch-or-pick-anymore/

18.Daily Prompt: Undo | بيسان
http://smileyface80.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/daily-prompt-undo/

19.Daily Prompt: Undo Fast Food Restaurants « DiaryCube –
http://diarycube.com/2013/02/21/daily-prompt-undo-fast-food-restaurants/

20.A World Set to Zero | Liquid Matthew’s Development Blog – http://liquidmatthew.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/a-world-set-to-zero/

21.Joe’s Musings – http://joeowensblog.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/1901/
22.Undo. | jaycee68 – http://jaycee68.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/undo/
23. http://theloneshewolf.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/deep-thought/
24. http://angloswiss.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/daily-prompt-undo/

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Undo

Add yours

  1. I think the common theme here is that we would find a way. Just because we are used to something doesn’t mean we coudln’t figure out how to live without and find other alternatives. As they say, necessity is the mother of invention.

    Like

  2. Pingback: jhyunkang

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: