October Ancestry Challenge 2013: Ancestor #13

1 Ancestry Challenge October

http://loricrane.wordpress.com/2013/09/21/october-ancestry-challenge-2013-2/

Ancestor #13

My great-grandfather, John Columbus (Lum) Gant, was born on March 9, 1890 in Alabama, probably DeKalb County. He was the first born son to Melmoth and Melvina Gant.

This is the youngest picture I have of John; probably made in the 1920’s
1 John Columbus Gant Looking Spiffy
As you can tell by my pictures, I’m not very tech savvy. :)

On December 23, 1909, John married Molly May Spraggins in DeKalb County, Alabama.
(I have an 8×10 of them together. I just need to scan it.)

Molly was born on March 20, 1892 in Slackland, Cherokee County, Alabama to unknown parents. I have a copy of her birth certificate and it says, unknown, for both parents. It doesn’t make any sense to me, but that is what it says. I will write more on her tomorrow.

John and Molly had thirteen children together; 7 boys and 6 girls. One daughter lived only 4 months and another son, their last child, died before birth, set-up infection in Molly, which caused her death on November 22, 1933 at Grove Oak, DeKalb County, Alabama. This story is courtesy of my grandmother.

Molly, also, had a set of twins; 1 boy and 1 girl. Out of the other eleven children, three girls are still living, my grandmother being the oldest of these and the youngest is from the set of twins.

Another picture of John
1 John Columbus Gant My Great Grandfather

I lived in Grove Oak, Alabama for twenty-plus years. My 1st husband and I bought some land there. When my paternal grandmother came to visit, she told me her family had lived in the exact same spot and that she was born there. Needless to say, I still own that piece of land and have told my daughter’s to pass it on down and make sure it never leaves the family’s hands.

John, who was called ‘Lum’, for most of his life, lived to age 74. He passed away on March 22, 1964 in Fyffe, DeKalb County, Alabama.

A later picture of John
1 John Columbus Gant

John was a farmer and always rented the land he worked. I remember him staying with my grandparents a lot and I got to know him pretty well before he passed. He was a jokester, but very gentle and kind. He was staying at another daughter’s home when he passed away. He had no insurance or money to pay a funeral home, so his body lay in wait at his daughter’s home. I remember he was kept in the small living room, and his son’s would take turns standing over him. They stood over him 24 hours a day. I think he only laid in wait for two days and then was buried next to Molly at Black Oak Cemetery in DeKalb County, Alabama.
1 John and Molly Gant Tombstone

Sometime after 1940, John married his 2nd wife, Sarah Carazine. My grandmother said all of John’s children called her ‘Aunt Sally’. She must have passed away before I was born or when I was very young, because I have no memory of her that is my own.

DOCUMENTATION

1900 United States Federal Census

1910 United States Federal Census

1920 United States Federal Census

1930 United States Federal Census

1940 United States Federal Census

Alabama, Deaths and Burials Index, 1881-1974

Web: Alabama, Find A Grave Index, 1755-2012

2 comments on “October Ancestry Challenge 2013: Ancestor #13

  1. Mrs. Padilly says:

    Mama Bear, after teaching graphic design for over two decades, I can’t leave this post without helping you with the scans. :) I’m going to assume I know how your scanner works. After you do your “pre-scan” which typically includes the picture and the white background of the scanner’s bed, take your mouse, go to the upper left, or lower right (it really doesn’t matter) of your picture, then hold your mouse button down and draw a small box around your image. This will cause the scanner to do the final scan only on what is “selected.” Hope that helps, and that in the future I can see your ancestors close up! :)

Leave a Reply

